· 

Review: The Realm of Possibility

author: David Levithan

length: 210 pages

genre: Verse novel

my rating: 4.8/5

 

Sometimes I find it confusing to read a book with multiple points of view - I get 10 chapters in and can't remember what happened to which character. In TRoP by David Levithan (one of my favourite authors!), there are 20 different POVs... but don't let that put you off. Each one is so carefully linked to the others, and so distinct, that I could clearly see how each character has an effect on the others' lives. This also showed me that sometimes, other people see you differently to how you see yourself.

 

Aside from the fact that THIS IS A VERSE NOVEL (and a really good one too), something I loved about The Realm of Possibility was its diverse cast of characters. The book opens and closes with a gay couple, and in between are social outcasts and social butterflies, people of different religions, ethnicities, and orientations. It was great to see this much variation in a novel and that made it so much better to read.

 

Overall, I feel like The Realm of Possibility (which I first read two years ago, but recently read again) changed the way I see novels in verse - this was the one that started it all for me. And at only 210 pages, it was quick for me to read, but slow to leave, and not like anything else I've read before.

Write a comment

Comments: 0